Our portfolio

​​​The agriculture portfolio supports the sustainability, profitability and competitiveness of Australia’s agriculture, fisheries and forestry industries. The Minister for Agriculture, the Hon. Barnaby Joyce MP, and the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, Senator the Hon. Richard Colbeck, were responsible for the portfolio in 2014–15.

During 2014–15, the portfolio consisted of:

Links to the websites of portfolio agencies are available on the department's website.


This annual report covers the Department of Agriculture and has been prepared in accordance with the Public Service Act 1999 and the Requirements for annual reports for departments, executive agencies and other non-corporate Commonwealth entities. It includes the:

  • annual report required under subsection 26(1) of the Natural Resources Management (Financial Assistance) Act 1992 (see Appendix 5)
  • annual report of the National Residue Survey programme, required under section 10 of the National Residue Survey Administration Act 1992 (see Appendix 6).

Portfolio agencies table their own reports, which are available on their websites.

Disability reporting

Since 1994, Commonwealth departments and agencies have reported on their performance as policy adviser, purchaser, employer, regulator and provider under the Commonwealth Disability Strategy.

In 2007–08, reporting on the employer role was transferred to the Australian Public Service Commission’s State of the Service Report and the APS Statistical Bulletin. These reports are available on the APSC website.

The Commonwealth Disability Strategy has been overtaken by the National Disability Strategy 2010–2020, which sets out a 10-year national policy framework to improve the lives of people with disability, promote participation and to create a more inclusive society. A high-level, two-yearly report will track progress against each of the six outcome areas of the strategy and present a picture of how people with disability are faring. These reports are available on the ​​Department of Social Services website.

Figure 6 Portfolio stru​cture at 30 June 2015

This chart shows the structure of the agriculture portfolio as at 30 June 2015:  The Minister for Agriculture, the Honourable Barnaby Joyce MP, and the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, Senator the Honourable Richard Colbeck, were responsible for the portfolio.  The Australian Government Department of Agriculture was the portfolio department, with Daryl Quinlivan as Secretary.  There were two regulatory authorities, which were:  The Australian Fisheries Management Authority, with James Findlay as Chief Executive Officer;  And the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority, with Kareena Arthy as Chief Executive Officer.  There was one statutory marketing authority which also had responsibilities for regulation and research and development. This was the Australian Grape and Wine Authority, with Andreas Clarke as Chief Executive Officer.  There were four research and development corporations. These were for:  Cotton, with Bruce Finney as Executive Director;  Fisheries, with Patrick Hone as Executive Director;  Grains, with John Harvey as Managing Director;  And Rural Industries, with Craig Burns as Managing Director.

Previous | Annual Report contents | Next

Last reviewed: 4 November 2019
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.