Portfolio agencies

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Australian Government Agriculture portfolio comprises the Department of Agriculture, including the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES), as well as statutory bodies, non-statutory advisory bodies, independent advisory positions and other associated companies.

Our ministers

Portfolio outcomes

The department and each portfolio agency have planned outcomes, which contribute to broader portfolio outcomes.

[expand all]

Statutory bodies

These bodies are established and operate under specific legislation, which usually stipulates membership, functions and reporting requirements.

Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA)—responsible for ensuring the sustainable and cost-effective management of Commonwealth fisheries, on behalf of the Australian community.

Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority (APVMA)—responsible for assessing and registering agricultural chemicals and veterinary medicines. APVMA also regulates these products up to the point of retail sale.

Forest and Wood Products Council (FWPC)—operates as the Forest Industry Advisory Council (FIAC) and advises the minister on forestry issues and makes recommendations on proposed legislation and policies.

Murray Darling Basin Authority (MDBA)—responsible for Basin-wide water resource planning and management. It also administers and enforces aspects of the Water Act 2007 and the Basin Plan.

View details of statutory appointments of departmental officers.

Accountability of statutory bodies and officials

Statutory bodies and officials are accountable to the minister and the Minister for Finance—and through them to the Parliament of Australia—for the operational and financial performance of their statutory authorities under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013.

Statutory bodies/corporations usually provide annual reports and long-term operational plans for ministerial and/or industry approval. They may also be accountable to specific industries through:

  • levy payers
  • peak councils
  • representative organisations.

Boards are responsible for organisational performance and are accountable to stakeholders for achievement of commercial performance, conformity, statutory objectives and viability. AFMA and APVMA are each headed by a chief executive officer and have a direct line of communication and accountability to the minister.

Rural research and development

The rural research and development model is a mix of statutory bodies and industry-owned companies.

Statutory authority research and development corporations

Statutory authority research and development corporations (RDCs) administer funding for Australia’s rural research and development (R&D) activities. The current RDCs are:

Rural RDCs focus on expanding Australia’s rural R&D effort, improving industry effectiveness and efficiency by investing in high priority areas. They encourage uptake of research results to improve international competitiveness, productivity and sustainability.

Since 1 July 2015, statutory RDCs are required to operate under funding agreement with the minister.

Industry-owned companies

Australian industry-owned companies provide R&D and marketing services for:

  • egg and egg products
  • horticultural products
  • livestock
  • milk and dairy products
  • pork and pork meat products
  • red meat and red meat products
  • sugar
  • timber and forest products
  • wool.

Industry-owned R&D companies are ind​ependent corporate entities, established under specific legislation with expertise-based boards. The company members appoint the directors of the board. Companies are accountable to the minister through the legislation and statutory funding agreements and are entitled to receive industry levies and matching government funding for eligible R&D expenditure.

Non-statutory bodies

Non-statutory portfolio bodies provide independent advice to the minister on specific issues or oversight on policy, program and operational responsibilities. Non-statutory bodies draw on industry stakeholders and outside expertise.

Agriculture Ministers’ Forum and Agriculture Senior Officials Committee

The Agriculture Ministers’ Forum (AGMIN)​ facilitates collaboration between the Australian, state and territory and New Zealand governments on portfolio issues of national significance.

AGMIN membership comprises ministers with portfolio responsibility for primary industries (including fisheries and forestry) and is chaired by the minister. An AGMIN communiqué​ outlining key discussion points is often published after meetings.

The Agriculture Senior Officials Committee (AGSOC) focuses on portfolio issues of national significance that require joint collaboration and, where appropriate, progresses issues to AGMIN.

AGSOC membership comprises the heads of the Australian, state and territory and New Zealand government departments with responsibility for primary industries. It is chaired by the Australian Government member.

Following a Council of Australian Governments (COAG) decision on 13 December 2013 to streamline its council system, the Standing Council on Primary Industries (SCoPI) was discontinued. Historical information about SCOPI can be found at Australian Government Web Archive.

Agricultural Industry Advisory Council

The Agricultural Industry Advisory Council (AIAC) provides the minister with information, advice and recommendations on contemporary issues affecting Australia’s agricultural, fishing and forestry sectors. Further details can be found in the AIAC terms of reference.

For AIAC membership please visit the Australian Government Directory.

Indonesia–Australia Partnership on Food Security in the Red Meat and Cattle Sector

The Indonesia–Australia Partnership on Food Security in the Red Meat and Cattle Sector brings together Australian and Indonesian government and industry with the aim of improving joint competitiveness and prospects for long term investment. The partnership also aims to improve trade between Indonesia and Australia as part of a globally competitive supply chain in red meat and cattle.

Industry consultative committees

Industry consultative committees discuss specific industry issues to ensure efficient and effective service delivery.

Inspector-General of Biosecurity

The Inspector-General of Biosecurity (IGB) provides assurance of the ongoing integrity of Australia’s biosecurity risk management systems through independent evaluation and verification. The IGB reports directly to the minister.

Interim Inspector-General of Live Animal Exports

The interim Inspector-General of Live Animal Exports (IGLAE) is conducting an independent review of Australia's live animal exports regulatory practice and systems. The IGLAE reports directly to the minister.

Other associated bodies

The Australian Government provides funding to not-for-profit, portfolio-related companies, including:

The Commonwealth is a shareholder in AHA and PHA.

Appointments to portfolio bodies

The minister makes appointments to statutory and non-statutory bodies and positions—either directly or based on advice from an independent selection committee.

The agricultural portfolio skills database—Balance—supports the search for appointees to Australian Government bodies in the agriculture portfolio. Learn more about the database, including how to register​.

Information about appointments to government boards can be found at Australian Government Directory.

Last reviewed: 4 November 2019
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.