Technical Advisory Committee for the Review of the Australian Standards for the Export of Livestock (ASEL)

​​​​​​The Department of Agriculture and Water Resources has appointed a Technical Advisory Committee to review the Australian Standards for the Export of Livestock (ASEL).

The committee’s membership (below) has been designed to ensure a breadth of skills and expertise relevant to the standards in order to facilitate equitable consideration of issues and sound advice to the department.

The committee

The Committee operates under terms o​f reference.

Mr Steve McCutcheon - Chair

Steve McCutcheon was the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) from 2007 to 2017.  FSANZ is a bi-national statutory authority responsible for developing food standards in Australia and New Zealand. As CEO, Mr McCutcheon had responsibility for the day­ to-day administration of FSANZ and the control of its operations.

Prior to his appointment to FSANZ, Mr McCutcheon worked for 20 years with the Australian Government's (now) Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, including ten years (1997-2007) as a member of the Senior Executive Service, As Executive Manager of the Department's Product Integrity Animal and Plant Health Division (2004-2007), he administered the Australian Government's role in national biosecurity arrangements, He also led the team that developed the current food regulatory framework for Australia and New Zealand, as well as being delegation leader for Australia's contribution to the development of international food standards through the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

Mr McCutcheon has a Bachelor of Economics degree from the University of Sydney and a Graduate Diploma in Public Law from the Australian National University. He is currently Chair of Plant Health Australia limited and a member of the Department’s Scientific Advisory Group. He is also a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Teresa Collins – Animal Health and Welfare Expert

Teresa Collins is a Senior Lecturer in Animal Welfare and Ethics at School of Veterinary and Life Sciences, Murdoch University and a qualified veterinarian. Dr Collins has carved her name as an expert in animal health and welfare, contributing to many groups shaping contemporary animal welfare practice, for example through her work as a member of the Animal Welfare and Ethics Special Interest Group of the Australian Veterinary Association.

Dr Collins brings a lifetime commitment to animal health and welfare improvement, with a keen interest in the welfare of livestock. After spending her youth on the family dairy farm, she was a practicing veterinarian for 10 years before translating her skills into an academic career with Murdoch University. She has published over 30 papers on animal welfare science and her current work includes research and teaching in animal welfare; using behaviour to assess livestock welfare and furthering veterinary education.

Dr Hugh Millar - Animal Health and Welfare Expert

Hugh Millar is a distinguished veterinarian who has worked extensively in the public sector at state and federal levels for over 35 years. Dr Millar has contributed his animal health and welfare expertise to improve biosecurity, product integrity, veterinary public health, animal health and disease control and animal welfare in his previous roles as Chief Veterinary Officer of Victoria, and Executive Director of Biosecurity Victoria. Dr Millar was recognised for his outstanding contributions as Chief Veterinary Officer with a Public Service Medal in 2011.

Dr Millar served on the Board of Examiners for the National Veterinary Examination Board and the Veterinary Practitioners Registration Board of Victoria for over a decade. He recently reviewed and updated the National Standards for the Operation of Saleyards, and was a member of both the Safemeat Initiatives Review Implementation Steering Committee and the Australian Animal Health Laboratory Strategic Policy Group prior to their recent disbandment. 

Russell Phillips - Regulation specialist

Russell Phillips has held senior positions in the reform and regulatory areas of the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission throughout his 35 years in the Australian Public Service.

During his time at Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, Mr Phillips was instrumental in implementing recommendations from the Beale Review, an independent review of Australia’s quarantine and biosecurity arrangements, and the early development of the regulatory framework of the Biosecurity Act 2015. He was also closely involved in the deregulation of the Australian Wheat Board and the implementation of the Sugar Industry Reform Program. In addition to his expertise in legislative development and regulatory reform, Mr Phillips has an excellent understanding of international trade issues which he developed during his role as Minister Counsellor for Agriculture at the Australian Mission to the European Union in Brussels.

Kevin Shiell – Livestock Export Industry Expert

Kevin Shiell has over 30 years of experience working for state and national livestock industry bodies including as the Executive Director, Pastoral Group for the Victorian Famers Federation and the National  Executive Director for Sheepmeat Council of Australia. He possesses expert knowledge of the livestock export industry, serving as Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Livestock Export Corporation (LiveCorp) through a very challenging and transformative seven years for the industry.​

During his time at LiveCorp, Mr Shiell led many innovative industry programs including the industry quality assurance scheme—Livestock Export Accreditation Program. Mr Shiell is well versed in the practicalities of the trade and oversaw the development of the Australian Livestock Export Standards, the precursor to ASEL.

Stakeholder Reference Group

During the review, the Committee is engaging with a Stakeholder Reference Group of representative bodies with direct interests in the livestock export industry.

The committee invited the following organisations to take part:

  • Australian Livestock Exporters' Council (ALEC)
  • Australian Veterinary Association (AVA)
  • Cattle Council of Australia
  • Sheep Producers Australia
  • Australian Dairy Farmers
  • Australian Alpaca Association
  • Australian Buffalo Industry Council
  • Australian Camel Industry Association Inc
  • Deer Industry Association of Australia
  • Goat Industry Council of Australia (GICA)

The role of the reference group is to provide the committee with a resource to discuss technical and practical aspects of the review, drawing on their extensive experience with export conditions relevant to Australian livestock species and export processes.


For more information about the Technical Advisory Committee, contact the secretariat.

Email: TAC Secretariat

Last reviewed: 4 November 2019
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.