## Australian Fruit Fly Technical Advisory Subcommittee (AFFTAC) Communiqué—AFFTAC07

The Australian Fruit Fly Technical Advisory Subcommittee (AFFTAC) held its 7th meeting virtually from 22-23 February 2022.

The Chair, Sonya Broughton, welcomed new members Brian Thistleton and Thilini Ekanayake representing the Northern Territory, Touhidur Rahman representing Western Australia and Kahli Weir as the interim Commonwealth representative. Additionally, Plant Health Australia (PHA) has become a new permanent observer on AFFTAC, with Mila Bristow welcomed as the PHA representative taking on this role.

## Australia's National Fruit Fly Management Protocol

Subcommittee members have contributed to the consolidation of the Code of Practice for Management of Queensland Fruit Fly (IPHRWG 1996) and the draft Code of Practice for Management of Mediterranean Fruit Fly (IPHRWG 1997) into Australia's National Fruit Fly Management Protocol (ANFFMP).

## **Outgoing Chair**

The Chair would like to thank outgoing chair, Rod Turner, for his significant contribution to discussions and revision of Australia's fruit fly management documents over the last few years.

## Next meeting

AFFTAC is planning to next meet for AFFTAC08 from 21-22 June 2022 in Melbourne, Victoria.

Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment