Effective as of: 15 August 2024

Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE) Country List

This list is used by the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry for trade purposes relating to commodities other than beef and beef products for human consumption.

To address imported food safety requirements for beef and beef products for human consumption the Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) country status applies - https://www.foodstandards.gov.au/business/bse/bsestatus.

Note: Any country or zone not on this list is considered by the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry to have an undetermined BSE risk status.

Countries recognised by the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry as having a negligible BSE risk status

Country	Country	Country	
Argentina	Australia	Austria	
Belgium	Brazil	Canada	
Chile	Croatia	Denmark	
Finland	Italy	Japan	
Latvia	Lithuania	Mexico	
Netherlands	New Zealand	Norway	
Singapore	Slovenia	Sweden	
United States of America	Vanuatu		

Effective as of: 15 August 2024

Countries recognised by the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry as having a controlled BSE risk status

Country	Country	Country	
Bulgaria	Cyprus	Czech Republic	
Estonia	France	Germany	
Greece	Hungary	Ireland	
Luxembourg	Malta	Poland	
Portugal	Romania	Slovakia	
Spain	Switzerland	United Kingdom	

Countries (or Australian external territories or biosecurity zones) recognised by the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry as having a restricted BSE status#

Country	Country	Country	
Fiji	Kiribati	Norfolk Island	
Papua New Guinea	Solomon Islands	Timor-Leste	
Tonga	Torres Strait Islands	Samoa	

[#] Only a limited range of plant-based stockfeeds and their derivatives are eligible to be assessed for importation under this BSE status.