

HERITAGE CHAIRS AND OFFICIALS OF AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND

The Heritage Chairs and Officials of Australia and New Zealand came together for an historic meeting of cultural heritage leaders in Darwin on 22 May 2018.

The Heritage Chairs were joined by representatives of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage from the Commonwealth, States and Territories and have taken the opportunity to work together in advancing a shared approach to Australia's cultural heritage.

This was welcomed by Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga.

The group agreed to implement best practice cultural heritage principles including:

- Sharing the comprehensive Australian heritage story
- Inclusion and engagement with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people
- Co-operation and collaboration

The Chairs acknowledged the critical importance of recording and sharing the stories of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural heritage.

The Hon Dr David Kemp AC Chairperson Australian Heritage Council

Wayne Kraft Chairperson Northern Territory Heritage Council