Appendix 2 ARRTC membership and functions

The Alligator Rivers Region Technical Committee (ARRTC) was established in 1993 following amendments to the Commonwealth *Environment Protection (Alligator Rivers Region) Act 1978*. The membership structure and functions of ARRTC were revised in 2001 in response to a recommendation by an Independent Science Panel established by the World Heritage Committee calling for the establishment of an independent scientific advisory panel to review research activities in the Alligator Rivers Region and the scientific basis for assessing mining operations.

ARRTC membership

ARRTC comprises:

- an independent Chairperson;
- seven independent scientific members nominated by the Federation of Australian Scientists and Technological Societies (FASTS) with expertise in the following disciplines:
 - Hydrology and hydrogeology
 - Radiation protection and health physics
 - Plant ecology of minesite revegetation
 - Freshwater ecology
 - Ecotoxicology
 - Geomorphology
 - Chemistry and ecological risk assessment; and
- six members representing key stakeholder organisations.

ARRTC functions

The primary functions of ARRTC are:

- a to consider programs for research into, and programs for the collection and assessment of information relating to, the effects on the environment in the Alligator Rivers Region of uranium mining operations in the Region;
- b to keep under review programs and the carrying out of programs, referred to in paragraph (a);
- to make recommendations to the Minister [for the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts] on:
 - i the nature and extent of research necessary to protect and restore the environment in the Alligator Rivers Region, and
 - ii the most appropriate organisations to undertake the research referred to in subparagraph (i); and
- d to refer to the [Alligator Rivers Region] Advisory Committee matters relating to programs, and the carrying out of programs, referred to in paragraph (a).