# The North East Region: Victoria

#### **Boundaries**

The North East RFA region covers over two million hectares - about 10 per cent of Victoria's total area. Its boundaries include the Murray River to the east and north, the Hume Highway to the west, and the Great Dividing Range to the south.

The region includes the Rural City of Wodonga and parts of the Towong, East Gippsland, Indigo, Alpine, Wangaratta, Delatite, Strathbogie, Murrindindi and Mitchell Shires.

The North East Forest Management Plan, currently in preparation, will have the same boundaries as the RFA region.

#### **Features**

The region is known for its mountain landscapes, diverse range of flora and fauna, timber resources, tourism and recreational opportunities and the high quality of water in its rivers and streams.

It has a diverse climate, with hot summers on the plains and cold winters in the mountains. Dry 'rainshadow' valleys contrast with wet montane forests on adjacent mountains and sub-alpine woodlands and alpine herbfields at higher elevations.

### Land tenure

Forty six per cent of the region (1,057,300 hectares) is private land, mostly cleared and used for a range of agricultural pursuits.

Fifty four per cent (1,260,700 hectares), is public land, covered mostly by native forest.

Of this, State forest occupies more than half - 718,700 hectares.

Conservation reserves occupy about 392,000 of the public land, and include part of the Alpine National Park, the newly proclaimed Chiltern Box-Ironbark National Park and Mount Buffalo, one of Victoria's oldest national parks. The remaining public land includes alpine resorts, plantations and water bodies.

Three of Victoria's major water storages - Lakes Hume, Dartmouth and Eildon - are totally or partially in the North East.

## **People**

The population of the North East region is just over 174,000.

Wodonga, with approximately 26,200 people, is the region's largest town, followed by Wangaratta with 15,500. Benalla (8,600) and Mansfield (2,500) are the largest towns in the south and other towns in the region include Corryong (1,220), Myrtleford (2,700), Chiltern (1,080), Beechworth (2,950) and Yackandandah (590).