Australian forest profiles

​​Australia’s forests are grouped for national reporting into three broad categories:

  • Native forest – comprising eight broad forest types defined by dominant species and structu​re, namely Acacia, Callitris, Casuarina, Eucalypt, Mangrove, Melaleuca and Rainforest. The eighth type, Other native forest, comprises less common native forest types with relatively small individual areas, as well as native forests where the type is unknown.
  • Commercial plantations – comprising softwood plantations (mainly pines), hardwood plantations (mainly eucalypts), and a small area of plantations of unknown or mixed species. Commercial plantations supply most of Australia's wood.
  • Other forest – most of which are non-commercial plantations and planted forests of various types.

The Australian native forest profiles series

The Australian forest profiles series is a collection of eight fact sheets comprising an overview profile of Australia's forests and profiles of the seven main native forest types. The overview profile defines a forest and describes important forest attributes. Each of the seven forest type profiles provides a brief description of the forest type, its importance and uses, a distribution map​ and data. Information for all profiles is drawn from Australia's State of the Forests Report 2013 and will be updated with information from Australia's State of the Forests Report 2018 in the near future.

The current series of Australian forest profiles were published in 2016 and are available in HTML and PDF formats. Each profile contains links to underlying tabular data and high resolution maps that readers can access and download.

Australian forest profiles: 2016

Previous series of ‘Australian forest profiles’​

​Previous series of ‘Australian forest profiles’ were published in​ 2008, 2005 and between 1993–2002. These publications are available in pdf only. The first ‘Australian forest profiles’ series, released from 1993 to 2002, profiles seven forest communities. The 2005 and 2008 series profile eight broad forest types, as reported in Australia’s State of the Forests Reports. The 2005 profiles are based on information from Australia’s State of the Forests Report 2003. The 2008 profiles are based on information from Australia’s State of the Forests Report 2008. The 2005 and 2008 profile series also include an overview profile titled ‘Australia’s forests’.

​Australian forest profiles: 2008

Australian forest profiles: 2005

Australian forest profiles: 1993 to 2002

Regrowth karri (Eucalyptus diversicolor) forest in southwest Western Australia. Photo: Forest Products Commission, Western Australia.

Last reviewed:
29 Aug 2019