A nationally consistent approach to Farm Debt Mediation (FDM)

​​​​​​​​At the Agricultural Finance Forum held on 23 September 2014, the Minister for Agriculture, and now Deputy Prime Minister, the Hon. Barnaby Joyce MP, pledged to investigate the need for a nationally consistent approach to FDM.

Currently, only New South Wales, Victoria and Queensland have legislated FDM schemes in place, while some other states have voluntary schemes. The Australian Government is consulting with state and territory governments about developing a harmonised approach.

Further information on established state government approaches to FDM can found at: