Step-by-step guides

​​​​​​​​​​​​​If you intend to import cats and dogs into Australia you will need to ensure you comply with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources import conditions.

Please refer to the below step-by-step guides to help you understand the requirements relating to the different categories of approved countries. The material below is provided as a guide only; the import permit will contain the definitive import conditions. This page also has a guide to importing dogs and cats from non-approved countries.​

[expand all]

Group 1 Country

New Zealand; Norfolk Island; Cocos Island

Dogs and cats from New Zealand do not require an import permit to enter Australia.

Dogs and cats from Norfolk Island and cats from the Cocos (Keeling) Islands do require an import permit.

Select the appropriate step-by-step guide:

Group 2 Country

American Samoa, Bahrain, Barbados, Christmas Island, Cook Island, Falkland Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Hawaii, Iceland, Japan, Kiribati Mauritius, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Kingdom of Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna

Group 2 countries are described as approved rabies-free countries and territories in and animals from these countries require an import permit to be eligible for import to Australia.

Select the appropriate step-by-step guide:

Note: Some south Pacific Island countries with limited animal health services may not have a permanent government approved veterinarian present to perform the required blood testing, treatments or examinations. If prospective importers cannot locate a government approved  veterinarian, they must contact the department well in advance of their proposed travel dates to discuss further options. In some cases, procedures completed by a regularly visiting foreign veterinarian or para-veterinarian may be acceptable.

Group 3 Country

Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Canary and Balearic Islands, Cayman Islands, Chile, the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jersey, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania,​ Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Malaysia (Peninsular, Sabah and Sarawak only), Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Netherlands—Antilles & Aruba, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, the Republic of South Africa, Reunion, Saipan, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Sweden, Switzerland (including Liechtenstein), Taiwan, Trinidad and Tobago, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States (including the district of Columbia, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands (but excluding Guam and Hawaii, Uruguay.

Group 3 countries are described as approved countries and territories in which rabies is absent or well-controlled and animals from these countries require an import permit to be eligible for import to Australia.

Select the appropriate step-by-step guide:

Non-Approved Country via Group 2 or 3 country

Animals from non-approved countries are not eligible for direct import to Australia. The information in the below guide provides details of what preparation is required to import your animal from a non-approved country.

Select the appropriate step-by-step guide: