Leadership team

[expand all]

Executive Director, Dr Steve Hatfield-Dodds

Steve is one of Australia’s leading researchers on integrated approaches to natural resource management, sustainability, global change and environmental policy.

He holds a PhD in Economics from the Australian National University. He is an honorary professor at the Crawford School of Public Policy, Board Member of the International Society of Ecological Economics, and expert contributor to the UN International Resource Panel and the Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES) working group on policy tools and methodologies.

Chief Commodity Analyst, Peter Gooday

Peter Gooday is Chief Commodity Analyst of the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES), the research division of the Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.

He has been involved in a broad range of research and analysis, including farm analysis, productivity and biosecurity; water market reform; productivity analysis; infrastructure issues affecting agriculture; fisheries management; economic issues associated with native forestry; meeting environmental objectives cost-effectively and affecting international and domestic mineral industries and commodity analysis.

He has a degree in economics with Honours from the Australian National University.

Dr Jared Greenville, Assistant Secretary
Agricultural Forecasting and Trade branch

  • trade and biosecurity
  • Global agriculture and food modelling
  • Global value chains
  • Growing Australian agricultural exports
  • Agricultural outlook
  • Agricultural macroeconomic analysis
  • Agricultural commodity transformation
  • Climate and agronomy i
  • Research and analytics platforms
  • Data organisation
  • Data ecosystems
  • Data interoperability
  • Special projects

Dr Steve Read, a/g Assistant Secretary
Biosecurity, Fisheries, Forestry and Land branch

  • Domestic fisheries
  • International fisheries
  • Socio-economic fish survey
  • Invasive species
  • Social sciences
  • Biosecurity modelling
  • Biosecurity risk management
  • Biosecurity value
  • Marine pests research
  • Spatial analytics.
  • Forest and land information
  • Forest and land synthesis and reporting

David Galeano, Assistant Secretary
Farm Performance and Resource Economics branch

  • Productivity analysis
  • Climate and price variability
  • Farm surveys management
  • Farm surveys policy insights analysis
  • Climate change and the profitability of Australian farms
  • Seasonal agricultural labour demand
  • Natural resources market measurement
  • Natural resources trends and drivers
  • Natural resources policy insights
  • Fisheries economics

Program Leads

Dr Tony Arthur – Biosecurity and Social Science

James Larcombe – Fisheries Science

Dr Caroline Gunning-Trant – Trade and Global Change

Dr Jane Stewart – Forest and Land Sciences

Dr Tom Jackson – Farm Data and Analysis

Stephanie Black – Natural Resource Economics

Dr Rohan Nelson – Agricultural Forecasts and Policy

Neil Thompson – A/g Research Information Systems

Organisation chart

Last reviewed: 6 July 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.