Landcare Awards

​Landcare Awards recognise passionate and committed Australians who make an outstanding contribution to natural resource management. Award recipients strive for a healthier, sustainable, resilient and more productive landscape.

The Australian Government supports the:

  • National Landcare Awards
  • Bob Hawke Landcare Award
  • State and Territory Landcare Awards.

National Landcare Awards

The National Landcare Awards occur every 2 years. They celebrate and promote the achievements of Australia’s Landcare community. Winners of the 2020 National Landcare Awards will be announced on Thursday 12 November 2020 in Sydney.

The 2018 National Landcare Award winners were announced on 11 October 2018. Around 600 landcarers came to celebrate the successes of the inspiring finalists.

Bob Hawke Landcare Award

The Bob Hawke Landcare Award acknowledges an individual with a remarkable commitment to caring for the land. The recipient is a champion for better practices and donates their time to share knowledge with others so that they too can prosper.

The prestigious award is presented every two years. It celebrates individual excellence in the promotion and adoption of Landcare and sustainable agricultural practices.

$50 000 in prizes is awarded to the winner. This provides the winner with an opportunity to further develop and champion their knowledge and skills in sustainable land management and Landcare.

The 2018 Bob Hawke Landcare Award was announced on 11 October 2018 during the National Landcare Awards.

See more information on the inspiring work of all finalists.

The winner of the 2016 Bob Hawke Landcare Award was Stephen Burgess. Stephen runs a combined sustainable market farming and light grazing enterprise. He does this in conjunction with Wurraglen Nature Refuge in Dagun, Southeast Queensland. Read more about Stephen and watch a video featuring the three finalists.

State and Territory Landcare Awards

State and territory Landcare Awards recognise the valued efforts of landcarers across Australia. These awards are presented biennially in partnership with state and territory landcare bodies. Winners become finalists for their respective categories at the next National Landcare Awards.

Read about the Winners of the 2019 State & Territory Landcare Awards for each state and territory.

Last reviewed: 1 October 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Please verify that you are not a robot.