International collaboration

​​​Australia collaborates with other aquaculture centres in the Asia Pacific region, which enables the sharing of resources, expertise and experiences.

The Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific

The Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia-Pacific (NACA) is a regional aquaculture research and development network.

The NACA consist of 19 member governments:

  • Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, North Korea, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Australia has had a long association with NACA. Australia's membership was formalised when the Instrument of Accession was lodged in the Australian Parliament on 1 July 1998.

NACA operates on a principle of collaboration between member economies, allowing research costs to be minimised through collaborative projects and the sharing of training capacity.

NACA provides a mechanism for multilateral cooperation on issues of common interest in the region, and sharing of information on regional developments and concerns in aquaculture. The Department of Agriculture contribution to and participation in NACA activities enables the department’s capacity building projects in the region to meet regional and Australian priorities for sustainable aquaculture development, leading to enhanced food security and facilitation of safe trade in aquatic animal commodities.

More information on Australia’s international activities, including NACA, can be found on the Aqu​a​​tic Animal Health section of this website.

Last reviewed: 4 November 2019
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.