APLC area of operation for Spur-throated and Migratory locust

The APLC carries out surveillance of spur-throated and migratory locust populations over most inland areas of NSW, Queenland and South Australia.  However, any control of these species which the APLC may undertake is generally conducted within the shaded area on the map below. 

APLC area of operations fro spur-throated and migratory locusts

The boundaries for APLC control operations for spur-throated and migratory locusts in Queensland and NSW were originally defined as.


The Shires of Inglewood, Stanthorpe, Millmerran and Wambo south of the Warrego Highway; west along the Warrego Highway to Charleville; south along the Mitchell Highway to Bourke.

New South Wales

From Bourke, east along the Barwon River to Walgett; east along the Namoi River to Narrabri; north along the Newell Highway through Narrabri Rural Lands Protection Board; northeast along the southern boundary of  Moree and eastern boundary of Warialda Rural Lands Protection Boards to the NSW-QLD border. 

Last reviewed: 4 November 2019
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.