Australia-New Zealand Biosecurity Cooperation

​The Australia-New Zealand Biosecurity Cooperation (ANZBC) is the working name for the the Consultative Group on Biosecurity Cooperation (CGBC). The group was established by Australian and New Zealand ministers in 1999 under the terms of the Australia –New Zealand Closer Economic Relations Trade Agreement.

The ANZBC provides the impetus and direction for harmonising animal and plant health measures affecting trade between the two countries.

Functions of the group were set out in Article 7 of the ‘Protocol on Harmonisation of Quarantine Administrative Procedures to the Australia New Zealand Closer Economic Relations—Trade Agreement’ (1988) and include:

  • oversee the work of technical working groups on animal and plant biosecurity on specific tasks within their field of expertise
  • appoint additional working groups, or designate project officers, to carry out relevant tasks
  • review reports and provide advice on biosecurity matters to Australian and New Zealand ministers.

Implementing this work strengthens the dialogue between the two countries on trans-Tasman biosecurity issues.

The ANZBC has a particular focus on identifying differences in approaches to managing biosecurity risks that impede trade, and harmonising approaches where possible to facilitate trade and travel. To this end, Australia and New Zealand will, where possible;

  • recognise each other’s systems to manage biosecurity risk (for example, verification and certification processes) and facilitate trans-Tasman trade
  • remove unnecessary trans-Tasman biosecurity controls (for example, requirements for trans-Tasman passengers), and
  • implement a consistent approach to biosecurity risk assessment and management of imports from third countries (for example, approaches to managing rabies).


Membership of the ANZBC comprises representatives from the Australian Department of Agriculture and the New Zealand Ministry for Primary Industries.

Three working groups operate under the ANZBC:

  • Animal Technical Working Group
  • Plant Technical Working Group
  • Operational Technical Working Group.

Each group discusses technical and policy issues and reports back to the ANZBC.


The ANZBC meets annually with hosting duties alternating between Australia and New Zealand. The ANZBC is chaired by the head of the relevant hosting agency or its representative.

  • Meeting 15, Auckland NZ, 6 November 2019—Joint Communique
  • Meeting 14, Melbourne AU, 8 November 2018
  • Meeting 13, Wellington NZ, 12 October 2017
  • Meeting 12, Melbourne, 8 September 2016—Joint Communique
  • ​Meeting 11, Wellington, 10 September 2015
  • Meeting 10, Canberra on 12 August 2014—Joint Communique
Last reviewed: 20 November 2019
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.