National Forest Industries Plan – Progress Report (September 2018 to September 2020)

The National Forest Industries Plan includes actions to support industry to achieve the goal of establishing a billion new plantation trees. Since its launch in September 2018, progress has been made against a number of the plan's actions.

  • Nine Regional Forestry Hubs have been established:
    • North East New South Wales
    • Central West New South Wales
    • South West Slopes New South Wales
    • Gippsland, Victoria
    • Green Triangle, Victoria and South Australia
    • North Queensland
    • South East Queensland
    • South West Western Australia
    • North and North West Tasmania.

More information on the Regional Forestry Hubs.

  • The Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and Sciences (ABARES) is undertaking mapping and modelling of national forestry resources to determine the current extent of farm forestry, private native forests, and Indigenous owned and/or managed forests.
  • The Forest Industry Advisory Council and the Regional Forestry Hubs have been invited to identify legislation or policies that may be a barrier for plantation expansion.
  • The review of the water requirements in the Emissions Reduction Fund (ERF) farm forestry and plantation methodologies to enable forestry to fully participate in the ERF resulted in Amendments to the Carbon Credits (Carbon Farming Initiative) Regulations 2011 that allows projects in areas receiving greater than 600mm rainfall, where tree planting is unlikely to have a material adverse impact on availability of water, to participate in the Emissions Reduction Fund (ERF). More information on eligibility can be found at Plantation Forestry method. The changes currently apply to five regional forestry hubs: North East New South Wales; South West Slopes (New South Wales and into Victoria); Green Triangle (South East South Australian part only); South West Western Australia and North/North West Tasmania. A map of the eligible areas is on the Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources website.
  • A new National Institute for Forest Products Innovation (NIFPI) research centre in Gippsland Victoria has been established, to add to the existing centres in Launceston, Tasmania and Mount Gambier, South Australia. The Gippsland centre is funded jointly by the Australian and Victorian governments.
  • All 10 Regional Forest Agreements (RFAs) have been extended. The Australian Government has worked with relevant state governments to renew RFAs in line with contemporary legislation, including commitments to protect threatened species listed under the EPBC Act and other matters of national environmental significance.
  • To assist in growing community understanding of forestry management, the government has:
    • released the Australia's State of the Forests Report 2018
    • funded Forest and Wood Products Australia to deliver two education initiatives: the National University Wood Challenge for innovative uses of wood residues or timber products; and expanding virtual reality experiences for forestry education. Due to the impacts of COVID-19 and the recent 2019–20 bushfire season, the delivery dates for these projects are being re-assessed.
    • launched a suite of communication videos on Australia’s sustainable forestry industry on 18 September 2019. These communication products were developed to provide information on the role of forestry and raise awareness of the Australian forestry industry and forests as a sustainably managed resource. Six videos and seven social media cut-downs were produced. They are available on the department’s YouTube channel.
Last reviewed: 5 November 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.