Failing Food Report – April 2021

Publication details

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, April 2021

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Data set - Importing Food Inspection Scheme - monthly failing food reports

[expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected.

Non-compliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
18/3/2021 Betel nut India Visnukumar Traders Pvt Ltd Prohibited plant n/a n/a FSC 1.4.4
9/4/2021 Tapioca crisp Malaysia Desa Southern Agency Hydrocyanic acid 11 mg/kg CAS 09/2016
13/4/2021 Cassava chips Indonesia PT Rasa Sayang Ais Krim Hydrocyanic acid 11 mg/kg CAS 09/2016
13/4/2021 Roasted peanuts China Shandong Fengsheng Foods Co Ltd Aflatoxin 0.149 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
14/4/2021 Tapioca chips Indonesia Wynad Exports Hydrocyanic acid 14 mg/kg CAS 09/2016
14/4/2021 Tapioca sticks Indonesia Wynad Exports Hydrocyanic acid 18 mg/kg CAS 09/2016
15/4/2021 Dried seaweed strip China Fuzhou Hailin Foods Co Ltd Iodine 1830 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
15/4/2021 Dried seaweed China Fuzhou Hailin Foods Co Ltd Iodine 2900 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
23/4/2021 Peanuts granulated China Shandong Fengsheng Foods Co Ltd Aflatoxin 0.032 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
24/4/2021 Sweet peanuts Sri Lanka J Remitta Stores Aflatoxin 0.013 (product contains 55% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.008) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
30/4/2021 Red chilli powder India Al Saqr General Trading Co Llc Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected. We will test further imported consignments of this food at an increased rate. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the non-compliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
19/3/2021 Candy Japan Kasugai Seika Co Ltd Composition Gardenia blue Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16956
1/4/2021 Raisin sultana India Patidar Exports Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Thiamethoxam 0.25 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16944
7/4/2021 Spinach China Gaomi Ruifeng Foods Co Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16945
Chlorpyrifos 0.022 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16945
14/4/2021 Snow peas China Yongzhou Huiyou Agriculture Development Limited Company Fruit and vegetable residue screen Thiamethoxam 0.02 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16960
Difenoconazole 0.08 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16960
20/4/2021 Raisins India Patidar Exports Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.5 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16981
23/4/2021 Gourd slices India Innovative Cuisine Fruit and vegetable residue screen Monocrotophos Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16840
Acephate Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16840
29/4/2021 Energy drink Iraq Narin Company General Trading Composition Vitamin B2 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 17017
Vitamin B6 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 17017
Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 17017
Last reviewed: 27 May 2021
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip