Failing Food Report – February 2021

Publication details

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, February 2021

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Data set - Importing Food Inspection Scheme - monthly failing food reports

[expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected.

Non-compliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
5/2/2021 Peanut sauce - long chim miang base Thailand Aaharn Thai Foods Co Ltd Aflatoxin 0.02 (product contains 37.5% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.005) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
5/2/2021 Peanuts granulated China Shandong Fengsheng Foods Co Ltd (Shandong China) Aflatoxin 0.088 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
17/2/2021 Sesame seed hulled India Patidar Exports Pvt Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SES 05/2014
19/2/2021 Maldive fish Sri Lanka Lakrasa Products Pvt Ltd Histamine 320 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
26/2/2021 Fresh tuna Japan Global View Co Ltd Histamine 1106 mg/kg HIS 12/2016

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected. We will test further imported consignments of this food at an increased rate. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the non-compliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
25/1/2021 Chilli Papua New Guinea Nolka Limited Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16752
29/1/2021 Barramundi skin on Indonesia PT Iambeu Mina Utama Fruit and vegetable residue screen Enrofloxacin Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16614
1/2/2021 Dried fig United Arab Emirates PDS (FZE) Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cypermethrin 0.27 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16759
3/2/2021 Herbal syrup Hamdard Joshanda India Hamdard Laboratories Composition Borago officinalis
(Borage)
Prohibited Plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 16758
3/2/2021 Fruit cake rusk India Bikanervala Foods Pvt Ltd Composition Additive 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 HO match 16477
8/2/2021 Dried longan China Guangzhou Meixiang Yang Catering Management Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16772
8/2/2021 Coconut shredded India Wholesome Foods Microbiological Salmonella Detected /125g FSC 1.6.1 16773
8/2/2021 Goraka fruit Sri Lanka Jayalanka Supplier Fruit and vegetable residue screen 2-Phenylphenol 0.37 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16775
8/2/2021 Tipi tip onion snack Sri Lanka Uswatte Confectionary Composition Additive Phosphorus Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16776
8/2/2021 Instant noodles China Pingshan Xiangxuanyuan Food Co Ltd Composition Vitamin E Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16778
9/2/2021 Frozen yam Tonga JM Exports Fruit and vegetable residue screen Acephate Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16769
10/2/2021 Red bull drink Thailand T.C. Pharmaceutical Industries Co Ltd Composition Choline Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16787
11/2/2021 Parval India Innovative Cuisine Fruit and vegetable residue screen Monocrotophos Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16840
15/2/2021 Black olives manzanillo Israel Kvuzat Yavne Composition Ferrous Sulphate Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16788
16/2/2021 Cambodge tamarind fruit India Eastern Condiments Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen 2-Phenylphenol 0.37- Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16807
17/02/2021 Fresh betel leaves India Thangapandi International Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15619
Chlorpyrifos Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15619
Fipronil Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15619
Cypermethrin 0.2891 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15619
Profenofos 0.4844 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15619
17/2/2021 Mixed fruit jam India Sunrise Chemicals Composition Vitamin B3 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16812
18/2/2021 Cream crackers Malaysia Kraft Malaysia Sdn Bhd Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16563
Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16563
Iodine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16563
22/2/2021 Cereal bars United Kingdom Tesco Pty Ltd Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16818
Pantothenic acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16818
24/2/2021 Jelly powder Malaysia Happy Grass Products Sdn Bhd Composition Additive 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16798
24/2/2021 Green lentil India Batra Enterprises Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.016 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16808
Last reviewed: 30 March 2021
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip