Failing Food Report – April 2020

​​​Publication details​

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, April 2020

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

[Expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists noncompliant food we’ve detected.

Noncompliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
9/04/2020 Ossau Iraty cheese (sheep’s milk cheese) France Agour Distrib Sarl 64640 F64259100cee (Helette France) Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g CHE 07/2018
8/04/2020 Tapioca chips India Malabar Natural Foods Pvt Ltd Hydrocyanic acid 21 mg/kg CAS 09/2016
8/04/2020 Tapioca chips masala India Malabar Natural Foods Pvt Ltd Hydrocyanic acid 22 mg/kg CAS 09/2016
21/04/2020 Salted anchovies Philippines P.O.P Export Trading Histamine 260 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
22/04/2020 Spice coated fried peanuts India Haldiram’s Snacks Aflatoxin 0.048 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
22/04/2020 Pistachios Iran Ratin Khosh Co Aflatoxin 0.087 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
28/04/2020 Dried balaya fish (skipjack tuna) Sri Lanka Damayanthi Ent & Exp (Sri Lanka) Histamine 4500 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
28/04/2020 Maldive fish chips Sri Lanka Consolidated Business Systems Limited Histamine 260 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
24/04/2020 Dried anchovies Myanmar Evershine Trading Co Ltd Histamine 410 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
24/04/2020 Dried anchovies Myanmar Evershine Trading Co Ltd Histamine 970 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
24/04/2020 Dried anchovies Myanmar Evershine Trading Co Ltd Histamine 1300 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
24/04/2020 Dried anchovies Myanmar Min Thar Gyi Sea Food And Dry Fish Histamine 500 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
29/04/2020 Cut sea tangle (kelp) Republic of Korea Ottogi Ramyon Co Ltd Iodine 4300 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
29/04/2020 Sea tangle (kelp) Republic of Korea Ottogi Ramyon Co Ltd Iodine 3700 mg/kg BSW 12/2016

Data from the Imported Food Inspection Scheme - April 2020 failing food report

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists noncompliant food we’ve detected. We will test future consignments of this food at an increased rate of testing. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the noncompliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
3/04/2020 Frozen spinach India Global Gourmet Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.31 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
3/04/2020 Black eyed beans United States Columbia Bean And Produce Co Inc Fruit and vegetable residue screen Acephate
Methamidophos
0.26
0.079
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15795
1/04/2020 Frozen red chillies Vietnam D&T Green Food Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Difenoconazole
Hexaconazole
0.09
0.07
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15797
7/04/2020 Seedless tamarind India Sagar International Lead Lead 0.35 mg/kg FSC 1.4.1 15806
16/04/2020 Frozen spinach India Global Gourmet Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.38 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
17/04/2020 Long beans Fiji Labasa Farm Fresh Fruit and vegetable residue screen Acephate
Methamidophos
0.81
0.15
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15819
17/04/2020 Seasoned vinegar ponzu Japan Marukan Su Co Ltd (Japan) Composition Additive colouring - Carthamus Yellow Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 15822
20/04/2020 Shiso zuke ume (pickled plums) Japan Nagayama Foods Factory Co Ltd Composition Vitamin B1 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15828
20/04/2020 Katsuo ume (pickled plums) Japan Nagayama Foods Factory Co Ltd Composition Vitamin B1 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15828
20/04/2020 Hachimitsu ume (pickled plums) Japan Nagayama Foods Factory Co Ltd Composition Vitamin B1 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15828
23/04/2020 Chilli fermented bean curd China Kaiping Guanghe Fermented Bean Curd Ltd Bacillus cereus Bacillus cereus 3 600, 430, 7 800, 1 100, >15 000 cfu/g Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) HO match
23/04/2020 White fermented bean curd China Kaiping Guanghe Fermented Bean Curd Ltd Bacillus cereus Bacillus cereus 3 800, 1 400, 2 400, 830, 550 cfu/g Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) HO match
21/04/2020 Pickled green olives Lebanon Societe Robert Jabbour Lead Lead 0.16 mg/kg FSC 1.4.1 15833
27/04/2020 Black eyed beans United States Kirsten Company Llc Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.05 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
23/04/2020 Margarine Indonesia Pt Unilever Indonesia Tbk Composition Vitamin B1, B2, Niacin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match
23/04/2020 Wheat flour Indonesia Pt Indofood Cbp Sukses Makmur (Indonesia) Composition Vitamin A, D3 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15845
29/04/2020 Frozen spinach India Global Gourmet Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.76 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
28/04/2020 Soymilk Republic of Korea Dr Chung's Food Co Ltd Composition Vitamin C Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15852
28/04/2020 Frozen dried longan Thailand Tanaya International Co LTD Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.11 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
24/04/2020 Frozen strawberries Poland Svz International Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.10 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15853
30/04/2020 Strawberry jelly powder Malaysia Happy Grass Marketing Sdn Bhd Composition Additive E 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 15861
30/04/2020 Grape jelly powder Malaysia Happy Grass Marketing Sdn Bhd Composition Additive E 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 15861
30/04/2020 Strawberry puree concentrate Canada Pacific Coast Fruit Products Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.29 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15863
Last reviewed: 3 June 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip