Failing Food Report – June 2021

Publication details

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, June 2021

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Data set - Importing Food Inspection Scheme - monthly failing food reports

[expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected.

Non-compliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
28/4/2021 Halvah with vanilla Turkey Tunas Gida Paz San Tic Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SES 05/2014
28/4/2021 Halvah with pistachio Turkey Tunas Gida Paz San Tic Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SES 05/2014
28/4/2021 Halvah with cocoa Turkey Tunas Gida Paz San Tic Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SES 05/2014
4/5/2021 Dried seaweed Japan Tohkon Co Ltd Iodine 3200 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
6/5/2021 Chilli powder India Mahashian Di Hatti Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
7/5/2021 Dried seer Sri Lanka Green Line Lanka Pvt Ltd Histamine 480 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
7/5/21 Dried seer Sri Lanka Green Line Lanka Pvt Ltd Histamine 330 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
15/5/2021 Dried herring Philippines Sharmila Corp Histamine 410 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
26/5/2021 Chilli powder Mexico Meximport Food Win S De Rl Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
2/6/2021 Dried seaweed China Jinqiang Food Factory Iodine 2100 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
4/6/2021 Areca catechu (Betel nut) India Unique Fragrances Prohibited plant n/a n/a FSC 1.4.4
4/6/2021 Kelp China Fuzhou Hailin Food Co Ltd Iodine 1900 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
8/6/2021 Black pepper powder Sri Lanka New Lanka Cinnamon Pvt Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
8/6/2021 White pepper powder Sri Lanka New Lanka Cinnamon Pvt Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
8/6/2021 Black pepper whole Sri Lanka New Lanka Cinnamon Pvt Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
9/6/2021 Chilli powder India Nishant Export Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
16/6/2021 Peanut with anchovy Malaysia Huat Huat Kouping Sdn Bhd Aflatoxin 0.041 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
17/6/2021 Sesame with peanut paste China Beijing Liubiju Food Co Ltd Aflatoxin 0.039 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
21/6/2021 Areca catechu (Betel nut) India Pramukh Food Exports Pvt Ltd Prohibited plant n/a n/a FSC 1.4.4
21/6/2021 Chilli powder India Miltop Exports Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
22/6/2021 Feta cheese Greece D Kissas Bros OE Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g CHE 07/2018
25/6/2021 Dried fish Sri Lanka Derana Marketing Services Pvt Ltd Histamine 290 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
28/6/2021 Dried seaweed Korea Republic of Jayoenwon Food Inc Iodine 4700 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
29/6/2021 Dried seaweed Vietnam Viet San Food Co Iodine 4800 mg/kg BSW 12/2016

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected. We will test further imported consignments of this food at an increased rate. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the non-compliant food from the particular overseas producer. This administrative instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
11/5/2021 Cream crackers Malaysia Kraft Malaysia Sdn Bhd Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16563
Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16563
Iodine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16563
12/5/2021 Drink powder Malta Foster & Clarke Products Ltd Composition Vitamin C Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 17111
18/5/2021 Pear China Shenzhen J.F.Li Fruit Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin Detected - not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17112
25/5/2021 Cassava chips Indonesia Arira Pangindo Composition Colour 160b Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 Risk food with surveillance test fail
31/5/2021 Maize & soya protein bar Nigeria Nestle Nigeria Composition Vitamin B5 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 15076
1/6/2021 Frozen red chilli Vietnam Nguyen Thanh Iep Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Difenoconazole 0.10 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
Difenoconazole 0.10 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
Metalaxyl 0.16 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
Difenoconazole 0.15 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
1/6/2021 Frozen mixed chilli Vietnam Nguyen Thanh Iep Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Difenoconazole 0.14 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
Difenoconazole 0.07 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
1/6/2021 Frozen green chilli Vietnam Nguyen Thanh Iep Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Difenoconazole 0.06 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
Cyhalothrin Detected - not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17077
2/6/2021 Calorie bar Republic of Korea Haitai Pacific Corp Composition Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16094
Vitamin C Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16094
4/6/2021 Goraka fruit Sri Lanka Jayalanka Supplier Fruit and vegetable residue screen 2-phenylphenol 0.22 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16775
9/6/2021 Mango Vietnam DT Pro Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cypermethrin 0.05 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17083
18/6/2021 Raisins India Harihar Foods Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.95 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 14347
Propargite Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 14347
22/6/2021 Calorie bar – cheese taste Korea Republic of Haitai Pacific Corp Composition Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16094
22/6/2021 Calorie bar – maple syrup taste Korea Republic of Haitai Pacific Corp   Composition Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16094
24/6/2021 Cereal Japan Calbee   Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 17115
Pantothenic acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 17115
28/6/2021 Raisin sultana India Patidar Exports Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 1.19 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16944
Carbendazim 1.28 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16944
28/6/2021 Betel leaves India Malar Exports Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim Detected - not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17116
Chlorpyrifos 0.18 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17116
Difenoconazole 0.05 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17116
Metalaxyl 0.49 - exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 17116
Last reviewed: 23 August 2021
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip