Failing Food Report – March 2021

Publication details

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, March 2021

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Data set - Importing Food Inspection Scheme - monthly failing food reports

[expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected.

Non-compliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
2/3/2021 Cheese (bontazola vaschetta gorgonzola D.O.P) Italy Emilio Mauri Listeria monocytogenes Detected n/a FSC 1.6.1
2/3/2021 Chilli powder India Nishant Export Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
3/3/2021 Frozen cockle Vietnam Taviuc Co Ltd E. coli 0.2, 9, 2, 0.2, 0.7 MPN/g MOL 04/2017
8/3/2021 Peanut candy India Thulasi Exim International Aflatoxin 0.067 (product contains 70% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.0105) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
10/3/2021 Egg coated peanuts Indonesia PT Selaras Jaya Aneka Globalindo Aflatoxin 0.01 (product contains 60% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.009) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
11/3/2021 Tapioca chips India Greenmount Spices Hydrocyanic acid 15 mg/kg CAS 09/2019
12/3/2021 Peanut satay sauce chicken Indonesia PT Enak Jaya Makmur (Indonesia) Aflatoxin 0.023 (product contains 52.9% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.0079) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
12/3/2021 Spicy peanut salad dressing Indonesia PT Enak Jaya Makmur (Indonesia) Aflatoxin 0.018 (product contains 64% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.0096) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
15/3/2021 Dried seaweed China Jinqiang Food Factory Iodine Line 15a:1100 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
Line 16a:1400 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
Line 17a:2400 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
16/3/2021 Mussels Fiji Fiji Agro Marketing E. coli 110, >110, >110, >110, 46 MPN/g MOL 04/2017
19/3/2021 Betel nut Myanmar Evershine Trading Co Ltd Prohibited plant n/a n/a FSC 1.4.4
23/3/2021 Peanut bars/balls India Visnukumar (India) Aflatoxin 0.15 (product contains 93% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.01395) mg/kg NUT 11/2018

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected. We will test further imported consignments of this food at an increased rate. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the non-compliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
23/2/2021 Soft drink Japan Asahi Inryo K.K Composition Vitamin C Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16856
26/2/2021 Energy drink Thailand T.C Pharmaceutical Industries Co Ltd Composition Choline Bitrate Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16586
2/3/2021 Celery China Yantai Aofeng Foodstuff Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16710
2/3/2021 Spinach India Global Gourmet Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.013 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15422
2/3/2021 Preserved chilli beancurd China Zhuhai Bomen Food Enterprises Ltd Bacillus cereus Bacillus cereus 25000, 3300, 14000, 6900, >30000 cfu/g FSC 1.6.1 16893
5/3/2021 Yellow lentils India Batra Enterprises Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos - Lines 17a, 17c,17d Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 16116
11/03/2021 Frozen vegetables India Aerath Business Corporation Fruit and vegetable residue screen Acephate - Lines 5a&5b Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16871
Methamidophos - Lines 5a&5b Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16871
Cypermethrin - Line 5a 0.48 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16871
Cypermethrin - Line 5b 0.043 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16871
16/3/2021 Raisins Iran Ratin Khosh Co Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.78 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16885
16/3/2021 Mandarins Eqypt Dakahlia Fruit and vegetable residue screen Pendimethalin 0.08 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16886
18/3/2021 Monkfruit China Success Day Hong Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15256
18/3/2021 Lentils Myanmar AYS MFG Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.025 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15007
18/3/2021 Yellow lentils Myanmar AYS MFG Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.015 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15323
19/03/2021 Chocolate & caramel cereal bars United Kingdom Tesco Pty Ltd Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16818
Pantothenic acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16818
19/3/2021 Potato chips China Hunan Wangwang Foodstuffs Co Ltd Composition Vitamin C Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16641
31/3/2021 Flavoured syrup Thailand Hales Trading (Thailand) Composition Additive E211 - Lines 3a,4a Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16939
Last reviewed: 22 April 2021
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip