Failing Food Report – May 2020

​​​Publication details​

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, May 2020

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

[Expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists noncompliant food we’ve detected.

Noncompliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
1/05/2020 Crushed chilli Sri Lanka Cmb Lanka (Private) Limited Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
13/05/2020 Agour goat cheese France Agour Distrib Sarl 64640 F64259100cee (Helette France) Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g CHE 07/2018
13/05/2020 Compostelle cheese France Agour Distrib Sarl 64640 F64259100cee (Helette France) Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g CHE 07/2018
13/05/2020 Chalosse cheese France Agour Distrib Sarl 64640 F64259100cee (Helette France) Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g CHE 07/2018
18/05/2020 Frozen cooked vannamei prawns Thailand Top Product Food Co. Ltd. Standard plate count 16 000 000 , 13 000 , 6 000,
5 200 000, 4 000
cfu/g CRU 03/2019
6/05/2020 Dried Kelawalla Fish Sri Lanka St Anne's Enterprises (Sri Lanka) Histamine 660 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
6/05/2020 Dried Kelawalla Fish Sri Lanka D & R Exports Pvt Ltd Histamine 2200 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
6/05/2020 Dried Balaya Fish Sri Lanka D & R Exports Pvt Ltd Histamine 3600 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
6/05/2020 Maldive fish chips Sri Lanka D & R Exports Pvt Ltd Histamine 230 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
6/05/2020 Dried mackerel shavings Japan Fukushima Katsuo Co Ltd Histamine 520 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
12/05/2020 Roasted kelp China Luoyuan Jiazhiwei Food Co Ltd Iodine 3500 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
13/05/2020 Salted peanuts India Bikaji Foods International Pty Ltd Aflatoxin 0.031 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
13/05/2020 Garlic coated peanuts Indonesia Pt Garuda Putraputri Jaya (Indonesia) Aflatoxin 0.02 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
19/05/2020 Hijiki seaweed powder China Focusherb Corp Inorganic arsenic 4.2 mg/kg HJS 10/2016
19/05/2020 Dried seaweed China Guangdong Shengfeng Limited Company Iodine 2800 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
19/05/2020 Dried seaweed China Guangdong Shengfeng Limited Company Iodine 3700 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
19/05/2020 Dried kelp China Fuzhou Hailin Food Co Iodine 2500 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
29/05/2020 Medan peanuts Indonesia Pt Rasa Sayang Ais Krim Aflatoxin 0.043 mg/kg NUT 11/2018

Data from the Imported Food Inspection Scheme - April 2020 failing food report

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists noncompliant food we’ve detected. We will test future consignments of this food at an increased rate of testing. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the noncompliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
5/05/2020 Fresh sugar snap peas China Guangzhou Linqi Trading Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Procymidone
Thiamethoxam
0.026
0.015
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
1/05/2020 Brown sultanas India Khajanchi Exports (Mumbai India) Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.94 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15860
1/05/2020 Seasoned vinegar Japan Marukan Vinegar Co., Ltd Composition Additive colouring - Carthamus Yellow Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 15870
5/05/2020 Mixed fruit jam India Spectrum International Composition Vitamin B3 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15875
5/05/2020 Instant drink mix powder – orange flavour India Spectrum International Composition Vitamin K, Copper and Biotin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15876
5/05/2020 Instant drink mix powder – lemon flavour India Spectrum International Composition Vitamin K, Copper and Biotin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15876
5/05/2020 Instant drink mix powder – mango flavour India Spectrum International Composition Vitamin K, Copper and Biotin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15876
5/05/2020 Fresh chilled mango Vietnam Dt-Pro Co., Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cypermethrin 0.093 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15877
5/05/2020 Cereal – chocolate and banana flavour Japan Calbee Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15880
5/05/2020 Cereal - Granola Japan Calbee Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15880
5/05/2020 Cereal – walnut and apple maple Japan Calbee Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15880
11/05/2020 Mini rice balls Taiwan Sunny Winkel Co Ltd Composition Additive E 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 15884
6/05/2020 Frozen Chinese spinach China Shanghai Xushun Foodstuff Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.018 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
11/05/2020 Fresh oranges United States Wonderful Citrus Fruit and vegetable residue screen Tebuconazole 0.24 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15894
7/05/2020 Pineapple juice Philippines Del Monte Philippines Inc (Philippines) Composition Vitamin E Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match
13/05/2020 Frozen Chinese spinach China Shanghai Xushun Foodstuff Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin 0.027 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13/05/2020 Frozen Chinese spinach China Shanghai Xushun Foodstuff Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.022 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13/05/2020 Baby okra India Global Gourmet Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin 0.012 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13/05/2020 Dried longan pulp China Hong Kong Sing Hung Food Co Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.062 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15899
13/05/2020 Dried hawthorn fruit China Guangdong Zhongshan Guzhen Li Hua Nong Fu Factory Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin
Carbendazim
0.1
0.02
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15905
13/05/2020 Chinese dates China Botou Huayang Jujube Industry Co., Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyfluthrin
Cypermethrin
Difenoconazole
Cyhalothrin
0.22
0.107
0.313
0.027
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15906
13/05/2020 Jujube dates China Botou Huayang Jujube Industry Co., Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cypermethrin   0.313 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 15906  
18/05/2020 Frozen spinach India Global Gourmet Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos
Profenofos
Acephate
0.70
0.07
0.056
mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
20/05/2020 Toor dhal Myanmar Ays Mfg Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.027 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
20/05/2020 Mung dhal Myanmar Ays Mfg Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.042 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
21/05/2020 Seasoned pollock roe Republic of Korea Daesang Corporation Composition Vitamin C Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 15917
28/05/2020 Roasted betel nut Myanmar Ausi Myanmar Company Limited Composition Betel nut (Areca catechu) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 15932
28/05/2020 Pickled plums Japan Nagayama Foods Factory Composition Vitamin B1 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match
26/05/2020 Frozen Chinese spinach China Shanghai Xushun Foodstuff Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Paclobutrazol 0.013 mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
29/05/2020 Betel nut Myanmar Shwe Myanmar Investment And Commercial Co Ltd Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 15939
29/05/2020 Salted plums Taiwan Shun Tai Food Co., Ltd Lead Lead 0.15 mg/kg FSC 1.4.1 HO match
29/05/2020 Salted plums Taiwan Shun Tai Food Co., Ltd Lead Lead 0.18 mg/kg FSC 1.4.1 HO match
1/05/2020 Chilli prawn crackers Singapore Cheong Fatt Food Manufactory Pte Ltd Composition Additive (210) Benzoic acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 n/a*
26/05/2020 Betel nut Papua New Guinea Shoreline Agri Supplies Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 15957
26/05/2020 Betel nut Papua New Guinea Magdaline Maino Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 15954
26/05/2020 Betel nut Papua New Guinea Colin Lang Timothy Ho-Leong Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 15955
26/05/2020 Betel nut Papua New Guinea Magdaline Maino Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 15927
8/05/2020 Preserved vegetarian bean curd with chilli China Gui Yang Nanming Laoganma Flavoured Food Co Ltd (China) Bac
illus cereus
Bacillus cereus 7 600, 3 600, 3 400, 4 200, 2 000 cfu/g Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) 15882
11/05/2020 Fermented bean curd China Xiangshan Industry Co Ltd Bacillus cereus Bacillus cereus 6 400, 7 300, 6 200, 8 000, 17 000 cfu/g Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) 15883
11/05/2020 Spicy fermented bean curd China Xiangshan Industry Co Ltd Bacillus cereus Bacillus cereus 2 600, 6 000, 3 600, 5 600, 9 300 cfu/g Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) 15883

* Risk food product that failed because of product composition. Does not require a holding order.

Last reviewed: 28 August 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip