Failing Food Report – November 2020

Publication details

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, November 2020

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Data set - Importing Food Inspection Scheme - monthly failing food reports

[expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected.

Non-compliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
5/11/2020 Seaweed knot China Xianglan Deil Co Iodine 1450 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
6/11/2020 Peanuts Argentina Manisel S.A Aflatoxin 0.261 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
9/11/2020 Crawfish tail China Qingdao Miracle Import & Export Co., Ltd Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g CRU 03/2019
9/11/2020 Crawfish tail China Qingdao Miracle Import & Export Co., Ltd Standard Plate Count 120000, 150000, 160000, 140000, 860000 CFU/g CRU 03/2019
9/11/2020 Dried seaweed Japan Fukushima Katsuo Co Ltd Iodine 4300 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
9/11/2020 Maldive fish chips Sri Lanka Derana Marketing Services Pvt Ltd Histamine 750 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
9/11/2020 Maldive fish chips Sri Lanka Derana Marketing Services Pvt Ltd Histamine 310 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
9/11/2020 Frozen somber fish Thailand New Lamthong Foods Industries Co Ltd Histamine 290 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
9/11/2020 Cooked prawn with garlic marinade Vietnam Seavina Joint Stock Company Standard Plate Count 190000, 240000, 230000, 220000, 1700000 CFU/g CRU 03/2019
13/11/2020 Anchovy fillets Italy Talatta Srl Histamine 360 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
27/11/2020 Frozen herring Latvia Auriba Listeria monocytogenes Detected /125g FSH 07/2018
27/11/2020 Fried and seasoned crab Korea Republic of Greenwell Food Co Ltd (Namdoo Food Co ltd) Standard Plate Count 2200000, 78000, 160000, 28000, 78000 CFU/g CRU 03/2019

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected. We will test further imported consignments of this food at an increased rate. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the non-compliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
28/9/2020 Burn HD thermogenic cortisol support supplement Canada HD Muscle Composition Caffeine 9.56 - Exceeds permitted ML g/100g FSC 1.1.1 16500
16/10/2020 Lil nitro gummy bears United States Nestle Composition Additive Sodium benzoate Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16483
2/11/2020 Cool cherry flavoured bubble gum South Africa Mondelez South Africa Ptd Ltd Composition Additive Erythrosine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 HO match
16158
02/11/2020 Seasoned yellow rice United States Smart & Final Composition Iron Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
Niacin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match
16211
Thiamine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match
16211
Riboflavin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
Folic Acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
02/11/2020 Long grain rice with vegetable & spices United States Smart & Final Composition Iron Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
Niacin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
Thiamine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
Folic Acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match 16211
4/11/2020 Betel nut India Favour – ITA International Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 16486
5/11/2020 Toor dal (pea) Myanmar AYS MFG Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.013 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 15323
5/11/2020 Jelly babies (confectionery) South Africa Mister Sweet Composition Additive Erythrosine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 HO match
13629
5/11/2020 Legal lean syrup (grape) United States Doing Big Things Composition St John’s Wort Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 16501
5/11/2020 Legal lean syrup (grape) United States Doing Big Things Composition Melatonin Not permitted in this food n/a Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) 16501
5/11/2020 Legal lean syrup (cherry/raspberry) United States Doing Big Things Composition St John’s Wort Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 16501
5/11/2020 Legal lean syrup (cherry/raspberry) United States Doing Big Things Composition Melatonin Not permitted in this food n/a Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) 16501
9/11/2020 Frozen shredded coconut Vietnam BJ&T Joint Stock Company Microbiological Salmonella Detected /250g FSC 1.6.1 16502
10/11/2020 Garlic shoots China Shandong Sinofarm Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.06 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
15454
16/11/2020 Watermelon flavoured bubble gum South Africa Mondelez South Africa Pty Ltd Composition Additive Erythrosine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 HO match
16158
17/11/2020 Fresh baby corn Thailand Exoriens Fresh Ltd Microbiological E. coli <10, <10, 23, 43, 240 MPN/g FSC 1.6.1 16524
17/11/2020 Munaka sultana currant India Jay Keshav Exports Pvt Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Cyhalothrin 0.66 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16529
20/11/2020 Crab meat Vietnam Saigon Aquatic Products Trading Joint Stock Company DL769 Chemical Nitrofurazone 0.019 - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
14468
20/11/2020 Frozen whole durian Vietnam BJ&T Joint Stock Company Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.18 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16537
20/11/2020 Frozen whole durian Vietnam BJ&T Joint Stock Company Fruit and vegetable residue screen Iprodione 0.39 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16537
20/11/2020 Betel nut medium slices India Jay Keshav Exports Pvt Ltd Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 HO match
16079
20/11/2020 Mouth freshener India JSRJ Group Pty Ltd Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 16523
25/11/2020 Faunus - lemon syrup Taiwan Ming Sheng Food Enterprises Pty Ltd Composition Additive silicone resin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16536
26/11/2020 Toor dal (pea) India Patel Chaturbhai Ranchhodbhai Pulses Llp Fruit and vegetable residue screen Chlorpyrifos 0.017 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16543
26/11/2020 Jacob's original cream crackers Malaysia Kraft Malaysia Sdn Bhd Composition Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16563
Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16563
Iodine Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16563
27/11/2020 Sweetened betel nut Pakistan Fazal Trading Enterprises Composition Areca catechu (Betel nut) Prohibited plant n/a FSC 1.4.4 16558
Last reviewed: 23 December 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip