Drought Resilience Research and Adoption program

Eight Drought Resilience Adoption and Innovation Hubs will be established in regional Australia – providing networks for researchers, primary producers and community groups to work together to enhance drought resilient practices within their focus region.

The Hubs will be located in regional areas that reflect the key agricultural and climatic zones across the country. They are:

  • Southern NSW
  • Southern QLD/Northern NSW
  • South-West WA
  • Victoria
  • Top End NT/WA
  • Tropical North Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania

The Hubs will focus on collaboration, becoming flagship precincts for agricultural innovation.

The Hubs will aim to ensure agricultural research is useful and accessible, increasing opportunities to commercialise innovation.

A competitive process calling for the Hubs for each region will open in October 2020.

Initially, 4 years of funding will be provided to the Hubs. Funding beyond this will be considered as part of the 4-yearly review of the Drought Resilience Funding Plan.

A lead regional university will also be appointed to provide national coordination of the Hubs. The successful lead university will also manage Innovation Grants, facilitated through the Research and Adoption program. A competitive process to select a lead university will also open in October 2020, in parallel with the call for Hub applications.

Last reviewed: 3 September 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.