Failing Food Report – January 2021

Publication details

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment, January 2021

This report lists food that has failed under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Data set - Importing Food Inspection Scheme - monthly failing food reports

[expand all]

Risk food tests

We target and monitor food that poses a high or medium risk to public health. We refer 100% of risk food imports until we establish a history of compliance.

Table 1 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected.

Non-compliant food can’t be distributed for sale in Australia. We supervise the importer destroying or re-exporting it.

Table 1 Risk food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference
29/12/2020 Areca catechu (Betel nut) India Unique Fragrances Prohibited plant n/a n/a FSC 1.4.4
5/1/2021 Areca catechu (Betel nut) India Kirti Impex Prohibited plant n/a n/a FSC 1.4.4
6/1/2021 Chilli powder India Meximport Food Win Se Rl Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
7/1/2021 Dried kelp Korea Republic of Badamoolsan Fishing Union Corporation Iodine 2660 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
8/1/2021 Dried seaweed Korea Republic of Badamoolsan Fishing Union Corporation Iodine 4260 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
8/1/2021 Masala peanut India GRB Dairy Foods Pvt Ltd Aflatoxin 0.023 (product contains 46% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.0069) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
8/1/2021 Mild peanut salad dressing Indonesia PT Ambengan Jaya Berkat Sejahtera Aflatoxin 0.9 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
8/1/2021 Salad dressing Indonesia PT Berkat Rasa Fajarindo Aflatoxin 0.013 (product contains 78% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.0117) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
8/1/2021 Sate salad dressing Indonesia PT Berkat Rasa Fajarindo Aflatoxin 0.011 (product contains 68% peanut, therefore the calculated maximum level is 0.0102) mg/kg NUT 11/2018
15/1/2021 Dry anchovy Myanmar Universal Cold Store (Yangon) Co Ltd Histamine 440 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
18/1/2021 Dried fish (seer) Sri Lanka Derana Marketing Services Pvt Ltd Histamine 280 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
19/1/2021 Dried fish (seer) Sri Lanka Enrich Tea & Food Exports Pvt Ltd Histamine 370 mg/kg HIS 12/2016
19/1/2021 Prophase kelp slices China Xianglan Deil Co Ltd Iodine 2940 mg/kg BSW 12/2016
21/1/2021 Sichuan pepper powder China Canngzhou City Huahai Shunda Grain & Oil Seasoning Co Ltd Salmonella Detected /125g SPI 06/2019
21/1/2021 Peanut butter Ghana Praise Export Services Ltd Aflatoxin 0.048 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
25/1/2021 Oysters Taiwan Chen Xin Industrial Co Ltd E. coli 9.3, 4.3, 110, 4.3, 15 MPN/g MOL 04/2017
27/1/2021 Peanut Masala Crispy Indian Snack India Nilamel Exports Aflatoxin 0.143 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
27/1/2021 Peanuts Thailand Siam Moei Co Ltd Aflatoxin 0.314 mg/kg NUT 11/2018
28/1/2021 Oysters Vietnam Cong Ty Tnhh Thuy San Duc Thanh E. coli 2, 0.92, <0.30, 9, 2 MPN/g MOL 04/2017

Surveillance food tests

We randomly refer 5% of surveillance food imports. We test for compliance to certain standards in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code and to verify safety.

Table 2 lists non-compliant food we’ve detected. We will test further imported consignments of this food at an increased rate. We do this until the overseas producer reaches a history of compliance. To achieve this, we apply a holding order to the non-compliant food from the particular overseas producer. This legal instrument flags the food for increased testing.

‘HO match’ indicates the fail was against an existing holding order. See a list of published holding orders.

Table 2 Surveillance food test results

Date of fail Product description Country of origin Producer name Test applied Reason for fail Result/s Units Reference Holding order number
22/12/2020 Fermented bean curd China Kaiping Guanghe Fermented Bean Curd Ltd Bacillus cereus Bacillus cereus ~9000, 13000, 27000, 14000, 150000 cfu/g Imported Food Control Act section 3(2) HO match 13975
29/12/2020 Mouth freshener India Dharampal Satyapal (India) Composition Additive 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16681
05/01/2021 Dragon fruit Vietnam Goodlife Company Limited Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16682
Cypermethrin 0.069 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16682
Iprodione 0.16 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16682
Permethrin 0.39 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16682
6/1/2021 Seasoned vinegar Japan Marukan Su Co Ltd Composition Additive colouring- carthamus yellow Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 HO match
15822
13/1/2021 Speckled eggs confectionery South Africa Lode Stone Confectionary Composition Additive 127 (Erythrosine) Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.1 16691
15/1/2021 Celery diced China Yantai Aofeng Foodstuff Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Procymidone Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16710
15/1/2021 Garlic shoots China Jining New Silk Road Food Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.12 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
16028
15/1/2021 Frozen blackcurrant concentrate Italy Iprona Spa Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim 0.14 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16696
15/1/2021 Frozen broccoli China Qingdao Oea Foods Co Ltd Fruit and vegetable residue screen Procymidone Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16702
15/1/2021 Fresh lemons Egypt Orange for Agricultural Crops Fruit and vegetable residue screen Indoxacarb 1.16 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16705
18/01/2021 Fresh betel leaves line 1a India SPN Exports Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16715
Profenofos 5.5225 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16715
18/01/2021 Fresh betel leaves – line 1b India SPN Exports Fruit and vegetable residue screen Carbendazim Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16715
Chlorpyrifos Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16715
Fipronil Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16715
Metalaxyl 0.4039 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 16715
20/01/2021 Precooked maize meal Namibia Namib Mills Pty Ltd Composition Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16709
Selenium Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16709
Pantothenic acid Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16709
Vitamin B12 Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16709
21/1/2021 Cocoa Powder Japan Morinaga Co Ltd Composition Niacin Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 16720
22/1/2021 Macaroni Philippines RFM Corporation (Philippines) Composition Vitamin A Not permitted in this food n/a FSC 1.3.2 HO match
15661
29/01/2021 Frozen red chilli – line 7a Vietnam Saka Saka Company Limited Chemical Chlorpyrifos 0.039 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13894
Acephate Detected - Not permitted in this food mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13894
Carbendazim 0.11 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13894
29/01/2021 Frozen red chilli – line 8a Vietnam Saka Saka Company Limited Chemical Difenocol 0.041 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match
13894
Permethrin 0.10 - Exceeds permitted MRL mg/kg FSC 1.4.2 HO match 13894
Last reviewed: 4 March 2021
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip