Holding orders for imported food

We apply and publish holding orders for imported food that:

Holding orders are legal instruments issued under the Imported Food Control Act 1992.

Holding orders ensure future consignments (same product, producer and country of origin) of a food are referred for inspection to verify compliance and safety.  

Holding orders for food that poses a serious risk to human health

We can apply holding orders to an imported food on the basis there are reasonable grounds for believing the food may pose a serious risk to human health. This holding order is active for 28 days, and can be extended until we receive assurances from the exporting country that future imports are safe.

This table shows holding orders for food that poses a serious risk to human health.

Holding order number Product description Reasonable grounds Date applied (month and year) Holding order Instrument
19001 Salted manila clam Association with hepatitis A outbreak 21 September 2019 PDF (338 KB), DOCX (82 KB)

If you have difficulty accessing this file, visit web accessibility for assistance.​

Holding orders for failing food

We apply a holding order for imported food:

  • that has failed inspection
  • if there are reasonable grounds to believe that it would fail an inspection.

We ensure future consignments of this food are inspected under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme (IFIS).

Holding orders apply until a history of compliance to the IFIS is demonstrated. This is usually after five consecutive passes or two years from the holding order implementation date.

This table shows the current holding orders we’ve applied each month.

Monthly holding orders

[expand all]

2019

November 2019

Holding order number Product description Date (month and year) Holding order Instruments
15460 Sliced pickled turnips November 2019 PDF (154 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15479 Preserved salted peaches November 2019 PDF (47 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15480 Preserved plums November 2019 PDF (47 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15481 Fresh (Longans) November 2019 PDF (48 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15482 Margarine November 2019 PDF (47 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15486 Frozen purple corn November 2019 PDF (154 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15489 Frozen durian  November 2019 PDF (48 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15495 Cereal November 2019 PDF (48 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15519 Qasuri Methi fenugreek leaves (retail)   November 2019 PDF (469 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15520 Vegetable Ivy Gourd   November 2019 PDF (50 KB), DOCX (84 KB)
15521 Strawberry IQF Whole    November 2019 PDF (464 KB), DOCX (84 KB)

If you have difficulty accessing this file, visit web accessibility for assistance.​

Holding order revocations for food that poses a serious risk to human health

We revoke holding orders applied to food that poses a serious risk to human health when we receive assurances from the exporting country that future imports are safe.

There are currently no holding order revocations for food that poses a serious risk to human health.

Holding order revocations for failing food

We revoke holding orders on failing food when a history of compliance is demonstrated. The instrument revoking these is published monthly.

Monthly revocations

November 2019

Document Pages File size
Instruments revoking a holding order November 2019 PDF 2 640 KB
Instruments revoking a holding order November 2019 DOCX 2 82 KB

If you have difficulty accessing this file, visit web accessibility for assistance.​

Last reviewed: 14 January 2020
Thanks for your feedback.
Thanks! Your feedback has been submitted.

We aren't able to respond to your individual comments or questions.
To contact us directly phone us or submit an online inquiry

Please verify that you are not a robot.

Skip